Saturday Reflection

What a wonderful day it’s been. My daughter and I filled our Camelbaks and made sandwiches and packed fruit and then headed for the Rio Grande for an 8 mile hike. I swear, my life is so much happier now that I’m becoming fit and getting outside. We were almost giddy with the joy of being out there and being ABLE to hike for so long! We’re going to chose our next Saturday hike tonight, so that we can again anticipate the payoff of going out for a hike on next Saturday. Working out Monday to Friday REALLY pays off when you want to go out and do a fun activity that requires at least some physical fitness.

So, my week, how was it? I weigh in tomorrow, so I wanted to look back on the week and see what living a fit life brought to me…a reminder that it’s more than about the number on the scale.

I’m so in love with my Nike+ Sportband. On the Nike site, I’ve signed up for these personal and group challenges:
Run 10 times before February 23 (Almost there now.)
Run 2010 miles in 2010 (I’m quite sure I won’t make this one but I’m sure going to chip away at it!)
State challenge: States compete to see who can run the most in 365 days. NM is woefully behind, but hey we don’t have that many residents!
Run across America: From coast to coast, landmarks pointed out along the way (doesn’t that sound fun?)

When I plug my little stick into my computer, the computer sucks up all the info from my run/walk for the day and updates all of my challenges so that I can see myself go from 1200th in place to 897th in place in a snap. So freakin’ cool. I feel like an Olympian.

I started out in the “yellow” zone and am now about 14 miles away from moving in the “orange” zone and this gets me weirdly excited. I can check the site and see that I’ve done 27 1/2 miles this week. Wow! Me! I did that! It shocks me to see what I’m capable of, and thrills me to my core.

I’ve made some good recipes this week and have discovered even more for myself, how completely fabulous that good, healthy food can be. (Sugar free chocolate pudding and sugar free whipped cream-you are the bomb.)

I’ve met a lot of wonderful women who blog about their own weight loss journey and have received so much support and encouragement from them…I’ve gleaned so much wisdom from them, collectively.

I have learned to not gripe and moan quite so much about the scale, which has been really weird this week: sometimes telling me I’ve lost several pounds, sometimes saying, “Never mind, I take it all back, and here’s 2 pounds more!” I don’t know what’s going on but I’m now more willing to just allow my body to cycle through whatever cycling it needs to go through as I just keep eating completely on plan and exercising every day.

I’m starting to finally get it. There’s nothing I can do about the pounds on my body, I can’t physically MAKE them shift, and so I have to do the only things I can do: Eat on plan every day, every meal, and exercise every day and be completely and utterly honest and accountable about those two things. After that, it’s just science. I know that I’m not going to be the only fat person in the history of this planet who doesn’t lose pounds when I’m working it. It’s “calories in, calories out” and it’s as simple as that.

Sometimes I hear people say they haven’t lost any weight for five months and that worries me, but then it always comes out that no, they aren’t journaling their food so they don’t really know what they’re eating and how much, and no, they aren’t quite as active as they want to be. It’s like Bob and Jillian on The Biggest Loser…if you don’t lose weight for two weeks, they’re going to rip you to shreds because it IS all about, calories in, calories out….and it takes time. It’s science. I want to remember that.

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Saturday Reflections and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Say Hi!

