Friday


I’m quite tired today. I’m going to do a 4 mile walk later on today but that’s it, no running for me.
I was worried about it because hey, you know how it is, you miss one exercise session or you eat one wrong meal and…..you start gaining all of the weight back! No, not really, but it sure feels that way in my head.

Someone very wise advised me to journal about my worries. I’m very big on journaling. I learned about doing “Morning Pages” from one of my favorite authors, Julia Cameron. Basically, you pick a time, daily, morning or evening or lunch break or whatever, and you pick up a pen and write out 3 full pages of your thoughts without stopping for one second. No stopping to correct your grammar or punctuation, nothing. You might write “I can’t think of anything to say,” for half a page before your mind shifts and you find yourself writing out what you are concerned about, what you’re trying to figure out. Morning pages have changed my life and helped me though so many tough spots. I highly recommend them.

Today, they helped me see that my worries about not being able to exercise every single day to the extent I desire, is NOT going to keep me from my goal of being healthy and fit. First, I have to learn to listen to my body, if I don’t, I’ll push too far, too fast and be turned off to exercise all together. Second, I have to TRUST myself that I will pick up tomorrow and get back on the fitness trail.

To think that I will NOT trust myself is to have the attitude of the old Katie and I’m not that old person anymore, I don’t live those same old habits. I have a new life, new ideals and new habits. I also have an honest truthfulness that I didn’t have before, and a willingness to accept responsibility for my choices.

The most important thing I’e developed though, other than honesty, is the ability to see myself in the next few days, the next few weeks, the next few months, out there walking, running, hiking, doing adventures. THAT is the new Katie and that is what I dwell on; in doing so, my mind can be reassured that taking one day off is not going to derail me. Being completely honest about my motives will keep me on the right track. Not making excuses, not lying to myself and anyone who will stand still to listen my excuses.

I’m tired today, I pushed it really hard yesterday and haven’t slept well for 2 days. I’m going to take a nice long walk today and enjoy it completely but I don’t have to PUSH myself today to prove something. I have nothing to prove to anyone or to myself. I’m on the right track.

Lastly, I did create a YouTube channel for Fit Living Today-the link is in the sidebar. However, I discovered that my camera, which takes great pictures, only does 30 second videos and that’s not good. My son just got a new camera that’s capable of doing 5 minutes or so of video, so I might borrow that until I can pick up a new camera. It’s funny to see myself on film…I’m much older and fatter than my photos tell me. It’s given me a different picture of how people see me. I think if I’d seen myself months or years ago, I wouldn’t have waited so long to get on the stick with this weight loss!!

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Inner growth and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Say Hi!

