My 13 Week Running Program

My BMI reached 39.9 this morning! Now that sounds like bad news but it’s awesome news, actually, I started at 43% BMI and once I moved below the 40% line I moved out of the “morbidly obese” category and into “clinically obese”. Yes, I have a long ways to go, but I’m getting healthier with each passing week.

Yesterday evening I got online at Runner’s World and joined the “Penguin” forum there.

The Penguin groups are for those runners who are slow runners…and I am s-l-0-w. 10 years ago when I was running 5-7 miles a day I was slow, slow and steady. I never was injured, not once in 4 years of running and I attribute it to my slow and careful approach. I tended to have great endurance capabilities, once running 16 miles in the pouring rain, but slow??? Oh my word I’m slow. Once, in a race, 10 years ago, I hit about a 9 minute mile and thought I would die from the surprise and the effort. I’m really, at my best, a 12 minute per mile girl. Seriously, now? If you walked alongside of me while I’m running you’d be perfectly comfortable. But hey, I don’t care about that, I’m running again!!!!

I’m having problems with my Nike+ thing. I got some info last night about how to attach it properly to your shoe if you don’t wear the special Nike’s with the little opening in the instep for the chip. You have to tape it to your shoe (if you don’t buy a little pouch). I ordered the pouch today for $3.99 but will just tape it to my shoe until the pouch comes.

So, as promised, here is my 13 week running program. I like it because it takes it’s sweet time in getting me up and running. I’m so heavy and so out of shape that I need it to be slower in the development phase. Anybody who’s spent time running knows how important it is to give your body the time it needs to build up supporting tendons, muscles, capillaries, etc.

Run With Katie

(I go out for about an hour, spending about 20 minutes walking to warm up and 10 minutes walking to cool down. The program calls for about 30 minutes. Whatever works for you.)

Weeks 1-3: Walk 5 minutes to warm up, run up to 2 minutes, repeat.
Weeks 4-6; Warm-up time, then walk 3 minutes, run 3 minutes, repeat (or if that’s too much, to soon, start with 90 second intervals and work up to 3 minutes.)
Weeks 7-9: Warm-up time then run 4-5 minutes, walk 1-2 minutes
Weeks 10-12: Warm-up time then Run 8-10 minutes, walk 1-2 minutes
Weeks 13 on: Warm-up time then run 30 minutes straight. If you can’t do it at first, don’t fret about it, do what you can, walking when you need to, with a goal in mind of 30 minutes of straight running.

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Exercise and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Say Hi!

