Whole Wheat Irish Soda Bread

I have a weight loss blog called “Fit Living” but I thought I’d do an offshoot of that blog and post the recipes and food stuffs here. Hence the name “Cooking For Fit Living”.


Tuesday. The house is empty, grown kids at school/work so I’m able to get a lot done.

I fiercely adore Georgia O’Keeffe, the artist who made her home in New Mexico and loved it so. She’s number one in my book. Anyway, I made this lovely whole wheat bread, Irish Soda Bread this morning, from her recipe.

For lunch, I had a slice of it with a teaspoon of garlic infused olive oil drizzled over it, and a cup of homemade chicken vegetable soup. Which means: I used the leftover chicken from last night and threw in broccoli and peas and leftover carrots plus a few pieces of leftover baked potato, added some spices, and I had soup.

I’m not really a patient enough cook to spend much time in the kitchen but I’ve always LOVED cooking healthy food. Which is strange because I’m so fat. Cooking unhealthy junk? Never was fun in my book. Oh well, can’t figure me out. Now I have nothing but healthy things to cook so I guess I’m pretty happy.

The bread, is so easy to make.

Irish Soda Bread

oven at 375

Mix 4 c. whole wheat flour
1T baking powder
1 1/2 t. baking soda
3/4 t. salt (I’m not adding salt to any of my food anymore but I did decide to use it in this bread. I actually think 3/4 t. is too much but maybe it’s because my tastes are changing. Next time I’d do just 1/2 t.)

Mix the dry stuff and then mix up this wet stuff in a small bowl:
1 1/2 cups yogurt
1 egg
(I used greek yogurt, which wasn’t wet enough so I had to add about 1/2 c. of water too.)

Make a little hill in the dry ingredients and pour the wet into the hill then mix it all gradually together with a big wooden spoon. I hate mixers. But that’s just me.

Pour it out onto a floured surface and knead all the crumbly bits together for a minute. When it’s nicely smooth it’s done. Divide the ball in half and shape 2 rounds of bread. Cut 2 slashes in the top and place each one in a sprayed pie pan. Cook for 35 minutes. (By the way, cutting the slashes is the funnest part. Must be the criminal mind within me.)

*I counted these 2 loaves as having 24 slices altogether. The long slices through the middle, I always cut in half to make 2 smaller slices.

Calories: 92.7 kcal
Carbohydrate* (64%) 15.83 g
Protein (20%) 4.81 g
Total Fat (15%) 1.62 g
Cholesterol 43.75 mg
Dietary Fibre 2.44 g

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Baked Goods. Bookmark the permalink.

Say Hi!

