Good day, people! I bought this cool gadget yesterday from Nike’s online site.
I bought it so I can use it at the Nike+ site to track my miles. It’s pretty cool, actually. You slip this band around your arm and put the accompanying chip on your shoe and it tracks your miles which you then somehow upload to the site. I really like the idea. It tracks your pace, your calories, etc. I’m not sure what all. I’ll let you know more about it when it arrives.

So, I got my hair cut. CRAP haircut. Ok, to be fair, maybe when I wet it and blow dry it under a bit it will all fall into place. It looks odd though. I don’t think she did it right. I’ll mess with it later and post a picture. It looks better than it did though. Sad but true. I’ll get it cut another inch before I fly out of NM to Seattle. I think I’ll go someplace else though!

Anyway, the young woman who cut my hair is the BIG NEWS today. I’m quite tall, about 5′ 9″ or so though I think I’ve shrunk a bit. Anyway, she was taller than me and though not skinny in an unhealthy way, she was so slender, tiny really. I was looking at her thinking…dang, I could never look like that in my wildest dreams. It must be nice to have been slim your whole life.

Well, she started cutting my hair and as she lifted her arms, sometimes her shirt would pull up a bit, exposing her belly and hips and I saw that she had really deep, red stretch marks. Not puckery skin, or loose skin, but deep stretch marks. We got to talking and I told her that I was getting my hair cut and going shopping to “treat myself” for having lost my first chunk of weight.

She got really serious and praised me to the heavens and said, “You can do it! You just have to keep on working no matter how long it takes.” Then, this beautiful woman, maybe 25 years old, said quietly to me that she used to weigh about 350 pounds! She had lost all of the weight over a four year period!! Honestly, I about came out of my chair. She probably weighs all of 145 pounds now.

Isn’t it funny how those things come into your life when you’re open to them? I was really jazzed by meeting her. I told her next time I come back I’ll be a lot fitter. I’m so hoping that my hair looks decent when I wash and style it so I CAN go back to see her.

I’m totally not a girly girl, so “styling” to me involves letting my hair dry naturally and flipping the ends under so it does it’s “bob” thing. I left the salon with my hair wet and went to lunch with friends and haven’t been able to play with it. It just looks weird. Weird. Hmm. We’ll see.

Lunch went great. I was concerned, but I ordered Udon noodles, vegetarian, and ate only half, taking the rest home to my son. Half was even too much. I tried pushing it around on my plate so I wouldn’t look weird. It was all completely good. I love my friends and it was so wonderful to see them!

I finished another piece of art today and need to get going on another. So, ta ta for now.

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Inner growth. Bookmark the permalink.

Say Hi!

