This just in: Pounds lost are just a by-product!

Well, today is different. I’m different, or my mind set is. I also blog over on “Blog To Lose” and last night, I posted this, which I think is worth repeating here.

“I was griping today about being impatient with my weight loss and wanting the scale to MOVE on down, but then I went over to Roni’sWeigh and read about how counter-productive it is to focus on the pounds. For the first time in my life, that really made me think.

In the past 3 weeks and 2 days, yes, I’ve lost 17 1/2 pounds which is glorious, but better, far far better than that is: The fact that I can now walk almost 5 miles a day with some speed, I’m eating healthy whole foods and I feel fabulous, I’m proud of myself and I can feel my confidence shooting up, I BELIEVE in myself, I’m taking on challenges physically that I thought I could never attempt-that those things were far behind me now that I’m 50. I’ve decided to start a walk to run program! I used to run miles every day, many years ago and never thought I might really be able to do so again.

I feel hopeful about life in general.

To focus on the pounds is, I think, for me, a huge mistake. I can see now that it’s a recipe for a sad regaining of weight. If I make it all about the pounds instead of making it all about a life change to exciting new tastes and adventures, then I lose out big time. It makes sense: The pounds come off BECAUSE of the new tastes and new exercise experiences and because of the adventures that I’m now able to take on.

I’m going to try hard to keep my head on straight now and to focus my vision in the direction of gratefulness that I am getting my LIFE back!”

It’s amazing how focused I have been on the pounds and not the benefits of what I’m doing. I think that’s why I gained back all of the weight I lost 10 years ago. I was only focused on the pounds and while I loved running, it was all about keeping the pounds off. I didn’t open my life up to new things, I was in a bad place during that time period. I had so much growing to do.

Anyway, this is my new viewpoint from now on and I don’t kid myself that it will always be easy to be patient and to keep my eye on the right thing: My eye is going to be on what living a life of fitness brings to my life, how it enriches my life. So, to that end, I’m going to stop posting my daily weight. Yes, I weigh myself daily (That will have to be another post for later this week, maybe tomorrow?) but from now on, I’ll only post what I weigh and what I’ve lost and how much of my BMI I’ve shed, once each week, on Sunday. Instead, I’ll spend more time focusing on what a fit lifestyle is bringing me each day. I like it!

I mean, seriously, you can’t make time move faster, being angry and frustrated over not be able to celebrate a 5 pound loss each and every week? What a waste of time. How about looking at the good things? You know….keep your eye on the good things and those good things will expand and more things will come into your life. I completely and totally believe that.

In building a fit life, you MUST look at the whole of life because the process itself is all about creating a balanced wholeness of good health. Focus on just limiting the calories and no exercise and you’ll fail, focus on the exercise and not the calories and you’ll fail, focus on the calories AND the exercise but not your inner growth…and you’ll fail. Why not take the time right from the beginning to craft the whole package, keeping an eye out for the little holes that show themselves in the process?

I’m so thankful to be able to get support and knowledge from those who have gone on before me!

Ok, lecture done. Today? I’m taking this down to get my hair cut:
I’m also going to go to lunch with some friends, to the art store for supplies and to the library to return books before the library police find me. Then, I’m going to stop by JC Penny’s and try on some clothes. I tried on on my new size 20 jeans again:
They fit pretty well other than my fat blubbing out over the top. I hope to heck I can tame that in the next 4 weeks because I really NEED to wear those jeans as my size 22’s are just too big now. Also, those cute boy short panties…fit! I love buying more girly things now. I’m sure I COULD have earlier, but I didn’t. So, it’s nice to get back into getting the pretty stuff again.

I have more to say…..of COURSE. But it’ll have to wait.

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Inner growth. Bookmark the permalink.

Say Hi!

