Week Four: 266
To lose total: 115
Lost: 17 pounds (3 pounds to go to my first 20!)
To go: 98 pounds
Original BMI:42.3 Current BMI:40.4 BMI lost: 4.3%

On my Biggest Loser Club member page, it states my starting weight as 278 not 283, my true starting weight. I didn’t start the BLC until I was a bit into the process. So, that explains that.

I’m making an executive decision. I’m NOT going to do the horrible Yoga program today. Why? I have come to dread and despise Monday’s and Fridays because of that Yoga DVD and that is not the way I want my weight loss journey to be. I may be a total wuss, it’s ok if you think so, but for right now, it’s simply too hard for me and I’m not willing to “gut it out” at the cost of developing any bad feelings about working out. This is all too new and fragile for me. I want to build a very strong foundation doing what I’m loving, and working hard at it. I know that will go a long way. I truly believe that.

I’m done my 72 minute walk in the desert (Odd time, I know but it’s a miles long loop and that’s how long it takes.) Today I noticed I was going much faster, consistently, without feeling like it was very challenging. So, yay! I can see I’m making progress in my fitness levels. Time to up the challenge.

I’m working today, thankfully I work from home, so I’m painting, .Being home allows me a lot more freedom to do the things I need to do to lose weight. Lest you think, “OH! She’s so lucky…that explains why she’s able to do it.” Not so fast. I also have MS, which sometimes hits me like a ton-o-bricks, causing overwhelming exhaustion that makes me have to crawl into bed for a good 16 hours of sleep before I can be normal again.

So, I have to work within parameters that others don’t…and I envy them. I have to strike a good balance between working out and being extremely consistent in it, which GIVES me energy- without pushing it to the point where I’m getting getting hot, which then makes my body and brain inflamed and then…off to bed! So, I’m careful, but I’m so lucky that I don’t have it going on big time. I realize how blessed I am in that regard. I’m careful.

Just wanted to share, though I never talk about it, and rarely think about it, lest you read this someday and think I’m all privileged with nothing but time to accomplish my fitness goals. We all have struggles. You have yours and I have mine. But, eh…it’s put of out my mind…poof. Possibilities, abilities, growing and changing, that’s all that matters, period.

Oh, I digressed. What am I going to do today instead of the Biggest Loser Yoga For Weight Loss? I’m going out hiking again, with my son, at 1 pm. We’re going to go climb the larger volcano out here on the West side of Albuquerque today. No, it’s not hugely tall, but it is a huffing and puffing climb and from the parking lot, it’s a long way to walk to get to the foot.

So that’s be a good second workout. Today I’m also doing a little strength training, as I’ve been doing Mon/Wed/Fri but as I do WANT to get in something that’s hard and makes me push, so I’ll either check out my daughter’s, “Billy Blanks” kickboxing dvd thingy, or I’ll break out my other new yoga workout, mentioned in a previous post, or I’ll get on my daughters exercise bike, which I’ve never done before.

So, I have choices. I’m very happy about that and I feel much better about doing my more cardio-y exercise today because of that.

*update: Son didn’t have the time to go hiking the volcano, too much homework. So, to replace the dreaded dvd, I did, in addition to my 72 minute fast walk in the desert: 35 minutes of easy, stress free yoga, 5 minutes of exercise bike (so hard!!), 20 lunges, 20 pushups (girl style and I suck at it), 20 crunches and 20 lateral lifts with a 5 pound weight then another 72 minute walk in the desert, at a brisk pace. I reallllly worked it today! I feel amazing since I spread it out over the whole day. I don’t regret not doing the Biggest Loser Yoga dvd at all. I worked a variety of muscles in a variety of activities and enjoyed it immensely even if some of it was uber hard.

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Inner growth, Misc. Bookmark the permalink.

Say Hi!

