Starting of week 4:
266.5 pounds
To lose total: 115 Left to lose: 98.5
Lost: 16 1/2 pounds

I went to the store today, after church, and bought some nice, size 20 jeans, a new bra that’s 2″ smaller around the ribcage than my old one, and a great green top in size L.

Now, I have to say, the top is still too small, the jeans are still too tight. BUT, I zipped them right up even though my fat is billowing out over the waistband. My size 22’s are way too large for me now and I feel ugly in them. The crotch hangs 2 or 3″ below where it’s supposed to be because a lot of my belly is gone that used to take up that slack.

So, I’m not going to wear these jeans yet, but I HAVE them now in anticipation of flying to Seattle to see my husband again and it gives me such hope to know that I’m close to wearing them and that my work is making a difference in my body. The green top I think I may wear to the wedding we’re going to on April 5th. I think I’ll make a green and white skirt to wear with it. I won’t be wearing it for awhile because obviously it’s so small on me.

But…I really wanted to take pics of the outfit now and then in about 4 weeks, just before I fly out of New Mexico to Seattle, I’ll retake the pictures and see how my body has changed.

When I first looked at these pictures (in the green top) I was SO discouraged. I forget how very big I am. But THEN I looked at my starting point pictures and I thought, Dang! I CAN see a difference. Not a lot, it’s only 16 1/2 pounds, but I can see there are changes happening. My face is slimming out too, not looking so bloated.

So, I think it’s a good time to post some photos. These were taken when I was just starting out, 3 weeks ago:


And 16 1/2 pounds later:
I got up this morning and then realized I had to fly out the door to make it the the early church service I wanted to attend, so I just grabbed a cereal bowl and slammed some already diced up cantalope and casaba melon cubes into it and ran for the car.

It occurred to me that about 100 calories worth of fruit was not a very substantial breakfast, but hey, I’d be sitting down, not running a 5k, and I’d survive. I’m learning to not let food rise to the forefront of my whole life. I’m learning that I eat to live, I don’t live to eat. That sounds so trite but it packs a whallop. And it’s “big medicine” when you finally can grasp that.

That’s something I’m really learning: That I need very little food to live well. Now I’m not talking about crazy starvation stuff here. I’m not capable of doing that anyway. I just mean that a peanut butter and jalapeno jelly sandwich on wheat bread and a big bottle of water turns out to be quite a sufficient lunch when you’re out hiking. That’s about a LOT less than I ever would eat for lunch at any other time in the past ten years. Who knew?

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Say Hi!

