Week 3:
268
Lost: 15 pounds
Total to lose: 115 Left to lose: 100
Total BMI lost:3.4% (woo hoo!!!)

I was laying in bed last night reading, “Confessions of a Carb Queen” and feeling pretty much at the end of my rope. I haven’t lost an ounce in days and days.

This morning I woke up and as I made my bed, I thought, you know what? If you only lost 1 pound a MONTH and it took you 4 years to even lose 48 pounds, you’d be a heck of a lot happier and healthier than you have been for the past ten. That really did help to put it into perspective for me.

But then I weighed myself and I was HAPPY! 15 whole pounds lost. I really do need to go down and get a pair of pants in a smaller size 20 now, (happy day) but am going to just keep washing them and getting them s little snugger, a little more often, because I want to wait until I’ve lost maybe 5 more pounds. We’ll see.

I feel such relief this morning. I was lecturing myself while I tried to sleep, laying in bed listening to howling wind and a big rain storm: It’s just math, it’s SCIENCE for Pete’s sake! Eat less, move more, and your body WILL shrink! Sometimes I fear I’ve ruined my body and it won’t work that way anymore. But, that’s not possible, is it? I have to be reminded of that daily.

The Carb Queen book was very good. It was hard to read. The author was so out of control for so long, fast food and restaurant meals 3 and more times per day, every day. She was almost 500 pounds. It took her about 3/4 of the book to get a real grip and get help. Once she did though, she was one determined chicky!

I learned something really interesting from this book: Reducing my salt intake. She mentions how eating salty things is a huge trigger for a lot of overweight people, not to mention a very bi aide in keeping you plumped up with water weight. She learned to eat her food with no sodium, and therefore, learned to love the TASTE of food, with other spices to enhance the true flavor.

Today I had 1/2 c. dry pasta cooked with 1 c. of veggies, onion powder, garlic powder, paprika and anything else in my spice cabinet that looked fun. I added 1/2 t. extra virgin olive oil steeped in minced garlic and very much enjoyed it. Yes, it was not salty, but I forced myself to PAY attention and the taste of the food was very nice, lovely actually. So, I learned something new. Something important to my journey.

Ok, now on to the yoga. Which I can totally do. Totally.

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Say Hi!

