Week 3:
270
Lost: 13 pounds
Total to lose: 115 Left to lose: 102
Total BMI lost: 2.9% (I’m pleased with this!)

I’m really tired of weighing 270. It’s been days since the scale moved down. I know, I’m impatient. I’m eating even a little under my calorie count every day, and am exercising every single day, so who knows what’s going on? I certainly don’t, and might I add, it sucks.

I try to take comfort in the fact that, on The Biggest Loser, those coaches BEAT those people up! They work out for HOURS every day and I hear it’s incredibly grueling. I’m losing about 2 to 2 1/2 pounds per week, and often, the contestants on the show only lose 3-5 pounds, so I should count myself lucky that I’m not having to work that hard and I’m still losing.

Logically, I understand that. I’m sure my impatience with the process will take a back seat soon, but for now, meh!

It’s been so warm and sunny here in NM, where even in the dead of winter, if it’s 40 degrees and the sun is shining, it feels so good out that you can walk in your shirtsleeves. In the picture above, I snapped a huge snow cloud over Albuquerque, with snow falling in the distance. It was 38 today but the sky was completely overcast and it was snowing lightly as I walked my one hour in the desert.

I felt all noble and smug being the only one out…oh yeah, I was also cold. But I felt alive! Only my face was cold and that’s because I took my scarf off to feel the air and the snow. I’m crazy like that.

And tomorrow? The day I’ve been a little bit dreading, (sorry positive attitude). Friday, that means it’s “Biggest Loser Weight Loss Yoga” day. That means, “ow!” (I mean, yay?)

I’m going to try a different strategy going in tomorrow, and by “in” I mean stepping from my easel to the yoga mat right behind me in my large art studio. It’s just me, me and trainer Bob and the gang from the DVD. My new strategy is to do the killer yoga first thing in the morning instead of a walk, because on Saturday, I’m going hiking with my daughter and I don’t want to be as exhausted as I was the last time I did this yoga. I’m only supposed to do one or the other anyway, at this point. So I’ll do the one. Because I SAID I would and I’m going to keep my promise, darn it.

The first time I did this dvd, on Monday, I drank my water bottle down and thought, no, I don’t need to refill it, this is just a yoga class. And then, halfway through class I was looking at my empty bottle with intense longing, dying for a drink of water but I didn’t want to pause the video because I thought, surely this class will be over soon. 65,000 years later, it was over and I was so thirsty I thought I would croak. So, tomorrow, I’m going to have a can-do attitude, water, and a full day to recover from the class before my big hiking day on Saturday.

My daughter, who’s 27, bought these two great books for us both to utilize:

It’s going to be a real treat looking through the books and picking out hikes to do over the next year and on into the future. I keep reminding myself that by doing my day to day exercise, I can have wonderful experiences doing special things like hiking in unusual places. It’s true, and it’s worth it.

But I swear by all that’s holy, that scale had better start moving downward.

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Say Hi!

