Running is getting easier, faster

This is where I run when I’m in WA state, at least during the week. This is the White River in Orting, WA.

My running is becoming easier and more enjoyable since I switched to the Galloway run/walk method. This morning I did 32 minutes: run 1/walk 1 for 2 miles and then walked 2 more and my running pace has dropped to 12:15 or so from 13:30 or so. It’s just challenging enough for me to work up a sweat, but just as I get pretty pooped from running, it’s time to walk again and therefore, time to recover. NOW I don’t worry if I can keep up the running, because I’ve found what works for ME.

One of the things that works for me is to not hang out with “real runners” who are online at running sites. That’s what always screwed me up in the past: those people who say that if you aren’t running full out, always working to improve your pace, you’re not a real runner, you’re a walker. I always wonder who died and made those people boss? Arrogance, I hear your name!!

I’ve decided. I’ve started training for a 1/2 marathon. I’ve been looking for one to sign up for..I’m just not sure what state I’ll be doing it in. My husband and I travel so much that I usually don’t know until about 2 weeks before we fly, which state we’re spending the month in. So I might have to just loosely chose a race and then sign up for it close to race time-and just pay the extra price they always require. Nevertheless, I’m excited at the idea of having some goals out there in the near future that require me to be really fit! Now, I can’t wait for the spring and summer!

About Vegan Blog: Fit Living Daily

I've been a licensed massage therapist since 2000. I've been married for 33 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Goals, running. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Running is getting easier, faster

  1. I have always had an itch to go to Washington and Portland. YOU are making that itch grow at an alarming rate! These pics are beautiful.

  2. Abby says:

    GOOD FOR YOU! It always helps to run in new, beautiful places. I also try not to let what other runners write about affect my running–which is hard. I feel so slow, but I know I’m doing what I’m capable at this time. And that’s all that anyone can really expect of us :)

  3. seattlerunnergirl says:

    Wow that’s super exciting!

    Question – How do you know when each minute is up? I run/walk longer distances but I HATE. HATE. HATE. having to check my watch all the time!

    • Seattlerunnergirl:
      Yeah, I hate that too. I can’t find my old running watch which used to beep and let me know when to walk/run. At the moment I’m holding my iphone and watching the stopwatch then logging each run minute as a “lap” so I won’t forget them. Not ideal! I read that Jeff Galloway offers some sort of running watch that does the thinking for you so I’m going to check into that. Also, I count my steps sometimes but that just feels so lame.

Say Hi!

