Roni’s Butternut Squash Fries

You MUST make these! I got this recipe from Roni’s Greenlitebites. They’re heaven! They’re a mix of creamy and crunchy, salty and spicey. Oh, they are awesome, and very little calories to boot!

Here’s a video, on how to cut and peel a butternut squash, which I never understood before.

Here’s how I make them: Cut the squash in half and scoop the seeds out then cut it into a couple of large chunks so it’ll fit in the microwave and then microwave it for 3 minutes to soften the peeling. Peel with a vegetable peeler then cut the squash into medium sized fries about 4-5″ long and 1/2″ wide. Wider and they take forever to cook, smaller and they burn…medium is just about right. I toss the fries with a teaspoon of garlic oil then sprinkle on: seasoning salt, pepper, onion powder and garlic powder. I cook in a 425 oven for about 30 minutes or a 400 oven for like….50 minutes. They seem to take forever to cook here in the desert. I may see a different cooking time in Seattle and Michigan. Keep an eye on them…then mark what time you take them out. I serve with 1 T. of catsup, which is just right to dip a big plate of these fries in.

Seriously, it’s one of the best things I’ve ever tasted! I made one medium sized squash and my daughter and I each had a serving about the size in the picture above, so the nutritional info will be for 2 servings about that size.

Calories: 400.1 kcal
Carbohydrate* (93%) 107.52 g
Protein (5%) 9.23 g
Total Fat (2%) 0.92 g (And honestly, when the squash is big enough, I eat TWICE as many as are pictured above..and love every second of it!)

About Fit Living Daily

I'm a Realtor in Albuquerque, NM. I've been an artist for almost 40 years now. I've been married for almost 30 years and have two grown kids.
This entry was posted in Dinner Ideas, Snack Ideas. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Roni’s Butternut Squash Fries

  1. vjnoone says:

    Glad you liked them! They look fantastic!!

Say Hi!

